2019 Dr Trevor Pearcey Centenary Celebrations

Trevor Pearcey, a great Austrlian ICT icon, was born on the 5 March 1919.

To celebrate his centenary, the Pearcey Foundation held a special event on 5 March 2019 at The Sydney Nanoscience Hub, located within The University of Sydney Nano Institute.

The Pearcey Centenary Celebration program featured eminent speakers exploring three of Dr Pearcey's prime areas of interest:

  • Computing (with a focus on quantum computing);
  • Astronomy and Radio Physics (where CSIRAC began within CSIRO), and;
  • Nanoscience with some focus on optics, an area in which Trevor Pearcey had a particular interest.


2018 in Review

National Awards

The Pearcey Medal, Pearcey Hall of Fame and Pearcey National Entrepreneur Award were held as part of the ACS National Disruptors Award program, 1 November 2018 at Melbourne's MCEC.

We very much appreciate the support of ACS and Data61 (CSIRO) for these awards.

acs awards 2018DATA61 CSIRO Logo

State Awards

The 2018 Pearcey State Entrepreneur Winners are:

Other Events

The Pearcey Foundation is proud to have been involved in the following events:

Recent News

Barry de Ferranti

29 Jan 2019

Vale Barry de Ferranti

One of Australia's great ICT pioneers Prof Barry de Ferranti passed away in late January 2019 at the age of 90. Barry had a great sustained involvement with Sydney University where he did his Science and Engineering Degrees (1946-50). »» Read more...


2019 Dr Trevor Pearcey Centenary Celebration

The Pearcey Foundation was proud to run a special Centenary Celebration on Tuesday 5 March 2019 at University of Sydney. The event commemorated Dr Trevor Pearcey and his work. Over 200 scientific, academic and industry leaders joined the Celebration from 3pm-7pm at the Sydney Nanoscience Hub, located within The University of Sydney Nano Institute. »» Read more...

Dr Dennis Cooper

01 Nov 2018

2018 Pearcey Medal

The prestigious Pearcey Medal, which recognises a distinguished lifetime achievement and contribution to the development and growth of the ICT industry in Australia, was presented to Dr Dennis Cooper. »» Read more...

Pearcey Hall of Fame 2018

01 Nov 2018

2018 Hall of Fame

Dr Dennis Cooper, Emeritus Professor Robin Stanton, and Dr Reg Coutts were elevated to the Pearcey Hall of Fame at the ACS National Awards dinner in Melbourne on Thursday 1st November 2018 in front of over 800 people. »» Read more...

Peter Laurie

10 Oct 2018

2018 Qld Award

The 2018 Pearcey Queensland Entrepreneur Award was presented to Peter Laurie at an ICT Awards night hosted by the Pearcey Foundation with the Queensland ACS and CICTA (Council of ICT Associations in Queensland). »» Read more...

Gary McDarby

04 Oct 2018

2018 Tas Award

The 2018 Tasmanian Pearcey Entrepreneur Award was presented to Dr Gary McDarby on Thursday 4 October at the Hobart Convention Centre. The award was presented by the Hon Michael Ferguson, Minister for Science and Technology as part of an ACS event that recognises the Tasmanian nominees for the ACS National Disruptor Awards. »» Read more...

Ken Kroeger

04 Sep 2018

2018 ACT Award

Ken Kroeger, CEO of Seeing Machines, was presented the 2018 ACT Chief Minister's Pearcey Entrepreneur Award. The award was presented by ACT Chief Digital Officer Bettina Konti, representing the ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr, at ACS Canberra's 25th Annual Conference on 4 September 2018. »» Read more...

Paul Shetler

28 Aug 2018

2018 Pearcey Oration

The 2018 Pearcey Oration was delivered by Mr Paul Shetler, a technologist and entrepreneur with more than 20 years of experience working on large projects in the technology industry and in guiding major government digital initiatives. The provocative talk was entitled "Be Bold Australia!". »» Read more...

Bernie Tschirren

28 Aug 2018

2018 Vic Award

The 2018 Victorian Pearcey Entrepreneur Award was presented to Bernie Tschirren and Michael Cameron on Tuesday 28th August at the Monash Chambers, Melbourne. The award was presented by Dr Amanda Caples, Chief Scientist, Victoria as part of a special Pearcey Day. »» Read more...

Tony Clark

28 Aug 2018

2018 SA Award

The 2018 SA Pearcey Entrepreneur Award was presented to Tony Clark as part of the ACS Branch forum, on Tuesday 28th August 2018 at at SAHMRI, North Terrace in Adelaide. The award was presented by Professor Mike Miller (2017 Pearcey Medallist) who said "this award celebrates and honours a South Australian entrepreneur who has not only been innovative and creative, ... »» Read more...


Medal 100

Pearcey Medals for Lifetime Achievement

The Pearcey Medal is a prestigious annual individual award that recognizes a distinguished lifetime achievement and contribution to the development and growth of the ICT industry in Australia. »» Read more...

Statue 100

Pearcey Entrepreneur Awards

The Pearcey National Entrepreneur Award is a special recognition annual award. This award gives prominence to one of the State Pearcey winners for inspiring leadership, scale, impact, innovation and acclaim on the world stage. »» Read more...

Library 100

Pearcey Hall of Fame

The Pearcey Hall of Fame recognises individuals who have made very significant lifetime contributions into one or more of Australia's ICT research, industry, or professional development. It is a yearly award which includes the Pearcey Medalist and up to two other individuals. »» Read more...


State Nominations

The Pearcey Foundation welcomes nominations all year round for any of its awards. We encourage the nominations of anyone who has made a significant contribution to the ICT industry. Simply contact us with the details. »» Read more...


A3.0 logo

Australia 3.0

Australia 3.0 leverages the collective wisdom of a grouping of some of Australia's leading Technology and Innovation thinkers and most experienced professionals to develop insight into the pivotal issues that will impact Australia's ability to succeed in the global digital economy. »» Read more...

Museum 100

Pearcey Institute

The Pearcey Institute was launched during the '60th Anniversary of Computing in Victoria' celebration in 2016 and was registered in 2018 as a 'Company limited by Guarantee' and designated the Pearcey Institute Limited (PIL). »» Read more...