Tasmanian Pearcey Awards


Nominations are now closed for the 2020 Tasmanian Pearcey Entrepreneur Award. These awards are an important way to help Tasmania entrepreneurs, organisations and businesses become nationally recognised.

The date of the announcement of the winner from an outstanding array of nominees will be announced later in September.

Tasmania Pearcey Committee

  • Ray Leonard
  • Dr Paulo de Souza, Data61
  • Paris Buttfield-Addison, Secret Lab
  • Daniel Ray - Splashback
  • Daniel Harrison - IS.ON Trust
Gary McDarby

04 Oct 2018

2018 Tas Award

The 2018 Tasmanian Pearcey Entrepreneur Award was presented to Dr Gary McDarby on Thursday 4 October at the Hobart Convention Centre. The award was presented by the Hon Michael Ferguson, Minister for Science and Technology as part of an ACS event that recognises the Tasmanian nominees for the ACS National Disruptor Awards. »» Read more...

James Riggall

03 Nov 2015

2015 Tas Award

The winner of the 2015 Tasmanian Pearcey Award was James Riggall. Commercially, James is MD of BitLink and he is also an active member of the Tasmanian startup community. James is the president of Startup Tasmania and one of the founders of both the Innovation Circle and Macquarie House Innovation Hub in Launceston, Tasmania. »» Read more...

03 Jul 2014

2014 Tas Award

As part of the 2014 Tasmanian iAwards gala evening event held on Thursday 3 July 2014 at the Henry Jones Art Hotel in Hobart, the Minister for State Growth, Minister for Energy and Minister for Environment, Parks and Heritage., the Hon. Mathew Groom MP presented the 2014 Pearcey Tasmania Entrepreneur Award to James Cudin. »» Read more...

20 Jun 2013

2013 Tas Award

At a gala State iAwards presentation evening on 20th June in the Henry Jones IXL Art Hotel, the Premier of Tasmania, the Hon Lara Giddings, presented Lawrence Howson with the 2013 Tasmania Pearcey Entrepreneur of the Year Award. »» Read more...


12 Jul 2012

2012 Tas Award

The 2012 Tasmanian Pearcey Award for mid-career ICT entrepreneurs was presented to Jared Hill, CEO & Co-Founder of eight year old insight4, a thirty man Professional Software Services company based in Hobart. »» Read more...


25 Nov 2011

2011 Tas Award

The 2011 Tasmanian Pearcey Award for younger ICT entrepreneurs was presented to Mr Daniel Harrison, Founder and CEO of QikID, an early stage company focussed on the biometric identification technology for the mass market. »» Read more...


16 Dec 2010

2010 Tas Award

The 2010 Tasmanian Pearcey Award for young ICT entrepreneurs was presented to Mr. Paris Buttfield-Addison and Mr. Jon Manning, co-founders of Secret Lab, by Mr David Bartlett, Premier of Tasmania in his role as Minister for Innovation, Science and Technology. »» Read more...

10 Nov 2006

2006 Tas Award

The 2006 Tasmanian Pearcey Award was won by Mr Ian Cumming, founder of Insight4. The award was given at a joint Pearcey and ACS function on Friday 10th November 2006. »» Read more...

05 Nov 2005

2005 Tas Award

The 2005 Tasmanian Pearcey Award presented to Luke Bereznicki on 5th November 2005. »» Read more...


12 Nov 2004

2004 Tas Award

The 2004 Inaugural Tasmanian Pearcey Award presented to joint winners Chris Dalton & Anthony Scotney. The presentation was made by Lara Giddings, Tasmanian Minister for Economic Development and the Arts, at the Tasmanian ICT Industry Awards in Hobart, on the evening of 12th November 2004. »» Read more...