

TO: Friends of Pearcey

FROM: The National Executive

DATE: 1st December 2010

SUB: Highlights of Pearcey in 2010

Dear Friends

This has been a very busy year for all of us involved with the Foundation. We thank you for your sustained support and mention below some of the major activities for 2010 man y of you have participated in. There is still one State Award to be presented in Tasmania on 16th December involving the Premier of Tasmania.

NATIONAL EVENTS

The highlight of the year was our National Medal event held in Brisbane on Wednesday evening 23 September 2010. The dinner was held in conjunction with the ACS as part of their 2010 World Computer Congress. Highlights of this event held at the Brisbane Exhibition & Convention Centre were:

- The 2010 Pearcey Medal was awarded to John Grant, CEO of Data #3, and Brian Finn AO together with Dr Peter Poole, were elevated to the Pearcey Hall of Fame. Presentations were made by Senator Kate Lundy who has supported our Foundation over many years
- Dr Megan Clark, CEO of CSIRO, gave the 2010 Pearcey Oration
- Over 500 people attended the gala dinner
- A provocative debate was conducted earlier in the day regarding 'Federally-funded ICT R&D in Australia' the proceedings were held under Chatham House rules
- Peter Ward was presented the 2010 Queensland Pearcey Award by Mr Robert Schwarten MP, Qld Minister for ICT

Full details on the National event are shown on our website so please click on http://www.pearcey.org.au/2010_National_Pearcey_Event and have a read.

STATE EVENTS for young innovators and entrepreneurs

The various committees in each state have worked hard to make 2010 our best year yet. Here is a quick summary of the Pearcey State Award events in date order:

- June in Victoria Brett Patterson, founder of FMOD, one of the world's leading suppliers of audio middleware used in internet games, was the winner of the 2010 Victorian Pearcey Award presented by Mr Tony Lupton MP, a Cabinet Secretary in the Victorian Government.. The event was held in conjunction with the ACS Victorian Branch (see <u>http://www.pearcey.org.au/2010_Vic_Award</u> for full details)
- September in the ACT awarded to Fullbright Scholar Dr Raymond Choo, a leading thinker in the burgeoning arena of cyber security. This event was also held in conjunction with the ACT Branch of the ACS as part of their annual awards evening. Senator Kate Lundy presented Dr Choo with the 2010 ACT Pearcey Award (see http://www.pearcey.org.au/2010_ACT_Award for full details)
- September in Queensland awarded to Peter Ward, Founder and CEO of Wardy IT Solutions, for his internationally recognised expertise and contribution to the SQL Server community. Details as per above (<u>http://www.pearcey.org.au/2010_Qld_Award</u>)
- October in NSW –the Rasmussen brothers of Google Map and Google Wave fame were the winners of the 2010 NSW Pearcey Award presented by Eric Roozendaal MP, Minister for State and Regional Development. This highly successful event was held as part of the NICTA@NSW Parliament technology showcase and included a provocative debate on commercialisation of ICT R&D (see <u>http://www.pearcey.org.au/2010_NSW_Award</u> for details)



- October in South Australia was presented to Dr Anton van den Hengel, inventor of VideoTrace, an image modelling system used in such things as Second Life and Google Maps. The event was held in conjunction with the SA Branch of the ACS (see <u>http://www.pearcey.org.au/2010_SA_Award</u> for details)
- December in Tasmania. As the event will be held as part of the Tasmanian Branch of the ACS' end-of-year event on 16th December 2010, there is no announcement of a winner. However, the Premier of Tasmania, David Bartlett MP, will be joining us to do just that

A couple of other interesting developments you will be interested to hear about are:

- a) CSIRO has very generously agreed to support the Pearcey Foundation for the next three years so as a National Pearcey Award for Innovation can be presented. The winner of this award, to be presented for the first time in 2011, will be drawn from the state award winners of 2010.
- b) We are hoping that Western Australia will be joining in our award scheme in 2011. The Chairman is in touch with the WAITA group via the local ACS branch watch this space!
- c) The National Committee continues to argue hard for the establishment of an ICT Economics Studies Institute dedicated to developing national policy for ICT. Essentially an academic group who potentially would have the wherewithal to undertake the recently commissioned NBN Study that was another 'one off' investigation, it is a national imperative for a services based economy like Australia's – see <u>http://wwand w.pearcey.org.au/images/a/ab/Pearcey-Proposal-DEESI-Feb2009.pdf</u> for more details as set out on our home page

PEARCEY SUPPORTERS

Our supporters through the year have been very generous in underwriting our events financially so as to ensure they were successful. We would like to express our sincere thanks to them all and have listed the organisations below as an acknowledgement of our appreciation:

National Event: ACS National (Anthony Wong and Simon Kwan), ACS Queensland (Ian Martin, Nick Tate and many others), Qld Dept of Public Works (Mal Grierson), and NICTA (David Skellern)

Queensland: ACS Queensland, Qld Dept of Public Works, ConferenceIT staff

New South Wales: NICTA, NSW Dept of Innov & Industry, ACS NSW

ACT: ACT Government (Chief Minister's Office), ACS ACT

Victoria: Multi Media Victoria, ACS Victoria

Tasmania: Tasmanian Government (Premier's Office), ACS Tasmania

South Australia: ACS South Australia

There are too many hard working committee people in each state to name here; but they are all mentioned on our website and all give of their time freely and generously. The National Committee consists of Len Rust, Phil McCrea and Charles Lindop in Sydney, together with Wayne Fitzsimmons, Rick Harvey and Peter Thorne in Melbourne. The teams in each state are led as follows:

- Vic Rick Harvey
- > NSW Charles Lindop & Phil McCrea
- > QLD Martin Lack, Dave Merson & Paul Gampe
- SA Brenda Aynsley
- > ACT Brand Hoff & John O'Callaghan
- Tas Steve Cambridge





SPONSORSHIP

We have relied on, and continue to rely on, government support in most states along with NICTA and CSIRO for our funding to run these activities. Also we have wonderful support from the ACS in each state as well as at the national level, together with AIIA, AIG AND AIIMIA. The National Committee is very appreciative of this support, given the nature of our Foundation.

During 2011 we are very keen to take on new and additional sponsors and provide appropriate recognition and promotion at out events, on our website, via publicity material and the like. Please feel free to approach any of the committee members in each state if you have any interest in supporting the Pearcey Foundation in this way. The National committee would also appreciate any feedback or queries any of you care to send to us.

Whilst there is no full time staff (or even part time staff) involved we are hoping that we may be able to arrange such a thing during 2011. There is a conscious effort to keep the website current so please check in regularly <u>www.pearcey.org.au</u> Our # hits exceeds 25,000 each month so we **are** being noticed.

On behalf of the National Committee, may I wish you the compliments of the season and that 2011 is a great year for all of us.

Look forward to hearing from you anytime

Sincerely

Wayne Fitzsimmons

For and on behalf of the National Committee admin@pearcey.org.au