2005 Pearcey Medal

14 October 2005 Melbourne

John O'Callaghan and Hon Marsha Thomson, Victorian Minister for ICTJohn O'Callaghan and Hon Marsha Thomson, Victorian Minister for ICT

The 2005 Pearcey Medal was presented to Emeritus Professor John O'Callaghan AM at the Pearcey National Event on Friday 14th October 2005 by the Hon Marsha Thomson - Victorian Minister for Information and Communication Technology.

Emeritus Professor John O'Callaghan has had a distinguished career in the area of information technology and has made significant contributions to research and development on information technology systems. He was made a Member (AM) General Division of the Order of Australia, on Australia Day 2020.

Professor John O'Callaghan AM

John O'Callaghan's achievements in the field of geographic information systems have been recognised with the award of the 1990 Eminent Individual by the Australian Urban and Regional Information Systems Association (AURISA). O'Callaghan was appointed an Adjunct Professor at the Australian National University in 1991.

In 1999, John O'Callaghan was invited to be the inaugural Executive Director of the Australian Partnership for Advanced Computing (APAC). APAC has substantially strengthened the advanced computing capabilities and expertise in Australia.

Prior to his role in APAC, John O'Callaghan was Chief Executive Officer of the Cooperative Research Centre for Advanced Computational Systems (ACSys). During 1988-96, O'Callaghan was the Chief of the CSIRO Division of Information Technology. O'Callaghan is recognised as an international expert in the area of high-performance computing and communications.

John O'Callaghan was awarded the Australian Centenary Medal "for services to Australian society in computer science and technology".

He has represented Australia in several Government-sponsored missions and forums. In 2000, he was a member of the PMSEIC Working Party on Information and Communications Technology, which led to the establishment of National ICT Australia (NICTA). John O'Callaghan has been active in the Cooperative Research Centres Program. As well as his role in ACSys, he played a major role in establishing the Research Data Networks CRC and was a member of its management committee (1996-97). John O'Callaghan has been Chair of the Australian Informatics Olympiad Committee since 1999, and has been an invited member of program committees for numerous international conferences.

Throughout his career, John O'Callaghan has demonstrated the ability to build and manage significant research teams, initially in machine vision, then in image processing, spatial information systems, software technologies and more recently high-performance computing and communications. Related research was concerned with the design of advanced systems incorporating emerging technologies for interactive image processing, computer graphics and parallel computing.

The State Government of Victoria, Multimedia Victoria; the Australian Computer Society; the Australian Information Industry Association, and Commonwealth Government DCITA were the major sponsors of the 2005 Pearcey Medal. Sponsors of the Pearcey National Event included Telstra CountryWide; Infosys; AIIA Victoria; ACS Victoria, Mooroolbark Investments; Whitehorse; and APAC.

Acceptance Speech

Dr John O'Callaghan's gave a very short acceptance speech(M4V, 1.2 MB).


Colloquium - "IT in Society"

  • Multimedia Victoria - State Government of Victoria (Now DSDBI)

National Pearcey Banquet

National Cocktail Reception

Event Principal Sponsor

  • Multimedia Victoria - State Government of Victoria (Now DSDBI)

Event Sponsors